NAJA elects three new board members during 2015 National Native Media Conference

Posted by Rebecca Landsberry on 07/23/2015

The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) elected three new board members through a balloted vote process Saturday, July 11 in conjunction with the 2015 National Native Media Conference in Arlington, Virginia. 

Darren Brown, Rob Capriccioso and Bryan Pollard were elected to the NAJA Board of Directors for 3-year terms, which began July 12, 2015. 

  • Darren Brown (Cochiti Pueblo / Choctaw) is the producer, videographer, editor and host for Cheyenne and Arapaho Television, the only Native-owned and operated broadcast TV station in El Reno, Oklahoma.
  • Rob Capriccioso (Anishinaabe) is the Washington D.C. Bureau Chief for Indian Country Today Media Network.
  • Bryan Pollard (Cherokee) is the executive editor of the Cherokee Phoenix in Tahlequah, Oklahoma.

NAJA bylaws also require that board members nominate and select their own officers each year. The 2015-2016 NAJA Executive Committee was selected prior to the 2015 NAJA Membership Meeting Sunday, July 12 at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City. Officers were announced for the first time at the meeting: 

  • Jason Begay, President 
  • Bryan Pollard, Vice President
  • Tristan Ahtone, Treasurer
  • Shannon Shaw-Duty, Secretary  

In addition to officers, remaining NAJA board members include:

  • Dalton Walker, Web editor and columnist at The Gazette (Colorado Springs)
  • Eugene Tapahe, Owner of Tapahe Inventive Design
  • Jolene Schonchin, PIO for Comanche Nation and editor of the Comanche Nation News
Outgoing board members are Mark Dreadfulwater (Cherokee) multimedia editor of the Cherokee Phoenix and Mary Hudetz (Crow), editor-in-chief of Native Peoples Magazine who previously served most recently as NAJA president for two consecutive terms. 
To view full bios and photos of the current NAJA Board of Directors, please visit: