NAJA elects three new board members and selects 2017-2018 executive committee

Posted by NAJA on 09/12/2017

ANAHEIM, Calif. -- Members of the Native American Journalists Association elected three new members to the board of directors: Shyanne Beatty (Hangwichin Athabascan) from Anchorage, Alaska; Graham Brewer (Cherokee) from Oklahoma City; and Jacqueline Keeler (Diné / Ihanktonwan Dakota) from Portland, Oregon, who will each serve a three-year term.

NAJA Election Chair and outgoing board member Jolene Schonchin announced the official results at the conclusion of the 2017 NAJA National Native Media Awards Banquet on Saturday, Sept. 9, held in conjunction with the 2017 Excellence in Journalism conference.

The NAJA Board of Directors also selected 2017-2018 officers during the first meeting with new members in attendance on Sunday, Sept. 10. Bryan Pollard and Jennifer Bell were unanimously elected to second terms on the executive committee. 

  • Bryan Pollard (Cherokee), President
  • Dr. Victoria LaPoe (Cherokee), Vice President
  • Jennifer Bell (Citizen Potawatomi Nation), Treasurer
  • Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton (Cherokee), Secretary

Darren Brown (Choctaw / Cochiti Pueblo) and Ramona Marozas (Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of Chippewa Indians) will remain seated for the duration of their terms.

For more information on NAJA, visit