NAJA calls for 2018 National Native Media Award entries

Posted by Native American Journalists Association on 03/12/2018

NORMAN, Okla. -- The Native American Journalists Association will recognize members’ coverage of Indian Country during the 2018 NAJA National Native Media Awards. The annual competition recognizes excellence in reporting by Native and non-Native journalists across the US and Canada. Cost is $25 per entry for professional or associate NAJA members, $15 per entry for student members and $50 per entry for non-members.

Contest entries will be accepted through April 10, 2018.

Entry Divisions

2018 NAJA-Medill Milestone Achievement Award

The 2018 NAJA-Medill Milestone Achievement Award recognizes important contributions made by journalists in the past, as well as encourages the new generation of Native journalists to achieve career excellence. This award honors NAJA’s mission and the exemplary people who have led the way with outstanding work and contributions to the field of journalism.

The winner of the NAJA-Medill Milestone Achievement Award will receive $5,000 from the the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University. NAJA will present the 2018 NAJA-Medill Milestone Achievement Award during the Membership Luncheon and Business Meeting on Thursday, July 19. There is no cost to nominate a member for this award.

2018 NAJA Elias Boudinot Free Press Award

The NAJA Elias Boudinot Free Press Award recognizes a publication or media outlet that has shown dedication and commitment to upholding freedom of the press, information and transparency in Indian Country. There is no cost to nominate a member for this award.

2018 NAJA Richard LaCourse Award

The NAJA Richard LaCourse Award for Investigative Journalism honors groundbreaking work by a Native American journalist or a team that creatively uses digital tools in the role of community watchdog. Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues. A $500 cash prize will be awarded to the winner of the NAJA Richard LaCourse Award. There is no cost to nominate a member for this award.


Entrants may reduce their entry fees by volunteering to judge another category / division. For each category judged, entrant may be forgiven one entry fee. Volunteers may judge up to four categories and may not judge a category in which they are competing. Any known conflicts of interest or preference for categories should be submitted using the judge's sign up form.

For a full listing of the 2018 categories and contest rules, as well as a volunteer judge sign up form, visit: