NAJA announces 2018 NAJF class

Posted by NAJA on 03/19/2018

NORMAN, Okla., -- The Native American Journalists Association (NAJA) has selected 10 students as members of the Native American Journalist Fellowship (NAJF) class of 2018, along with four second-year fellows.

The students come from tribal communities and colleges across the nation and will travel to the 2018 National Native Media Conference in Miami, Florida, July 18-22. NAJA Fellows will work in a joint newsroom with selected National Association of Hispanic Journalists’ students and mentors.

NAJF Class of 2018  

  • Hunter Hotulke, Seminole Nation, Haskell Indian Nations University
  • Robin Maxkii, Stockbridge-Munsee, Salish Kootenai College
  • Lydia Fielder, Cherokee Nation, University of Arkansas
  • Taylor Notah, Navajo Nation, Arizona State University
  • Cheyenne McNeil, Coharie, University of North Carolina
  • Benjamin Yazza, Navajo Nation, University of New Mexico
  • Melissa Ellis, Chickasaw, East Central University (Oklahoma)
  • Marissa Johnson, Salt River Pima-Maricopa, Arizona State University
  • Jarrette Work, A’aaniiihnin of Fort Belknap Montana, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Emily Dunford, Muscogee Creek Nation, University of Oklahoma

Fellows will participate in three webinars prior to the newsroom experience and can receive 3 hours of college credit at the undergraduate or graduate-level through their respective universities.

Learn more about the 2018 class at by clicking the ‘NAJF Newsroom’ tab under ‘Programs’.

NAJF Newsroom Leaders

  • AJ Earl, Comanche Nation, Portland State University; incoming graduate student at American University and NAJF Mentor-In-Training / Web Editor; Columbia University Scholar
  • Tyler Jones, Choctaw Nation, University of Kansas, Columbia University Scholar, NAJF Mentor-in-Training / Social Media Manager
  • Kaitlin Boysel, Cherokee Nation, University of Central Oklahoma, Columbia University Scholar
  • Priestess Bearstops, Oglala Lakota Nation, Minneapolis, Ohio University Scripps Scholar

Under the direction of NAJF co-directors Victoria LaPoe (Cherokee), Ohio University, and Frank Robertson (Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate), South Dakota State University, student fellows will work with mentors to produce coverage throughout the year. Val Hoeppner (Cherokee) will provide digital skills training during the onsite newsroom experience.

  • Darren Brown (Cochiti Pueblo/Choctaw), CATV47
  • Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton (Cherokee), freelance journalist
  • Ramona Marozas (Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of Chippewa Indians), CBS 3
  • Reggie George (Yakama Nation), KYNR-AM
  • Carina Dominguez (Pascua Yaqui), CBS News / 2014 NAJF
  • Mark Fogarty, freelance journalist
  • David Bledsoe, American Indian College Fund

About NAJA

NAJA serves and empowers Native American journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Indigenous cultures.

The 2018 NAJA Education Committee created NAJA Education Pathways to support Native American students pursuing media careers. From initial participation in the fellowship to returning as a mentor and future leader of the organization, NAJA aims to foster professional development at every level of students’ experience.

Thanks to the support from sponsors and sustaining members, all student travel expenses including airfare, food and accommodations are covered by NAJA for the newsroom immersion experience.