Richard LaCourse Award

Rhonda LeValdo presents the 2013 Richard LaCourse Award to Tristan Ahtone at the 2013 National Native Media Conference in Tempe, Ariz.

NAJA is extending the application deadline for one of its most prestigious awards recognizing excellence in investigative journalism with a $5,000 prize. 

NAJA's 2014 Richard LaCourse Award honors groundbreaking work by a journalist or a team that creatively uses digital tools in the role of community watchdog. The $5,000 prize is made possible through the Gannett Foundation Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award. 

Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues. The 2014 award recognizes journalistic stories and projects published or aired in 2013. Recipients will be honored at the 2014 National Native Media Awards Banquet on July 11 at the Hyatt Regency in Santa Clara, Calif.

The submission deadline for this award has been extended May 12.

Criteria for evaluating entries includes:

  • Innovation in storytelling including: interactivity, creation of new tools, innovative adaptation of existing tools and creative use of any digital medium.
  • Entry may consist of a single story, series or package on a single subject.
  • Spot news, news analysis, editorials, columns, features and photography are eligible.
  • Student work is not eligible.
  • Team submissions must name a primary contact who played a key role in the publishing of the submitted work.

Eligibility requirements and rules:

  • Entrant must be a current NAJA member in good standing.
  • Lead reporter of the entry should include a one- to two-page cover letter that explains how the topic was first encountered, pursued and if there were any particular reporting challenges or other special circumstances surrounding production of the story.
  • Reporter should also note include whether there was any notable reader response or impact as a result or apparent result of the work. Examples of impact may include, but are not limited to: changes in legislation or policies, or reversed governmental decision that ultimately benefitted the greater good.
  • Candidates should also explain whether their work represented a newsbreak or expanded on previous reports to offer a level of explanatory reporting.

Selection process:

  • The NAJA Board of Directors or a board-appointed committee will review nominations and select a winner of the Richard LaCourse Award.
  • The winner will be notified prior to the 2014 National Native Media Conference.

Richard LaCourse Award Entry Form

2014 Media Award Entry Fee

Purchase your 2014 NAJA Richard LaCourse Media Award entries for $25 each